Areas of Eligibility

The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education provides standards to school districts in Missouri to follow regarding finding children eligible for special education services. There are 16 categories of eligibility under which a child with a disability may be identified and provided services

  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Hearing Impairment/Deafness
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Learning Disability
  • Language Impairment
  • Sound System Disorder
  • Speech/Fluency
  • Speech/Voice
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Vision Impairment
  • Young Child with a Developmental Delay